Development of My Little Cthulhu (new PC)

A repository for easy access of the project threads that get started in the Mod Development forum.

Postby Interested2 on Fri Dec 31, 2004 8:24 pm

Recently, I was inspired by a Mind Flayer, from Dungeons and Dragons. I was struck with the idea of how cool it would be in Dungeon Siege, so I modelled something similar, lowered the poly count a lot, finished modelling it, changed the hands, and put it ingame. This is the saga in screenshots of the progress so far. I'll be working on this from time to time, but don't expect regular updates. It's just a little thing I'm doing for fun.

This is the first, mid-polycount version of the head. It's about 1200 polys (you can see a bigger view here.

So I optimized it, and began texturing. As I'm not very good with textures, I took the farmboy skin 001 and heavily modified it for the flayer head, so as to preserve the lighting on the texture.

At this point, I felt it was ready to go into Dungeon Siege. I made it as a custom head for the farmboy, as shown here.

Looking closely at the model once it was ingame, something immediately popped out at me - the hands. The hands are nothing like the clawed stranglers hands they should be. So, I set out to re-model the hands and put them on. Here is a shot of the new model with the hands in the character creation screen.

Here is a shot of my little Cthulhu using a Hoe against a Krug, from the start of Ehb. Notice the hands, and that I textured in nails as well.

At this point, I tried to bone and animate the tenticles. However, the engine apparently didn't like me doing this, and repeatly threw seemingly random errors at me. So, I decided on not animating the tenticles, but I changed their positioning to look more realistic. Also note the new monk-type tunic.